RSS

One of these things is not like the others…

07 Apr

My husband and I are fairly quiet, reserved people. Faith, though she’s still pretty young, seems to be a lot like us. Then there is Journey.

As I often say, “he’s his own special person.” He’s kind of loud and very outgoing–he’ll go around a room full of strangers and say hi to every person. And he has a TON of energy.

I love that he’s different from me. But sometimes I struggle with those differences. He’s much more emotive than I am, which can lead to some frustrating moments–I won’t even mention the breakdowns over the simplest things. But it can also lead to wonderful moments, like when he laughs so heartily it becomes contagious. But sometimes I wish he’d be more like me and relish the quiet moments of life. I can sit quietly with Faith and just enjoy the peace. Journey has never been like that. Even as a newborn, he was loud. We’d bring him into our bed in the early morning, hoping to get a few more minutes of rest. And he would just babble away. So much for peace and quiet.

I remember one Saturday morning when we were all relaxing in our bed. Well, all but Journey. He lay there for about five minutes before he wanted to get up and jump on the bed and sing as loudly as he could. I was ready to get after him for disturbing our peaceful morning, when I felt a caution in my heart–“don’t try to tame him.” Yes, he needs to learn when and where to be silly and loud. But in that moment, I felt like I needed to be careful not to make him feel like who God created him to be was somehow wrong because it didn’t “fit” with our family.

The reality is, we would be one pretty bland family without Journey to liven things up a bit. God clearly knew what he was doing when he placed Journey in our family: “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart…” (Jeremiah 1:5 NLT). And although he’s different from the rest of us, he very much fits with us.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 7, 2012 in Christian beliefs, Parenting

 

One response to “One of these things is not like the others…

  1. adrianpam

    April 7, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    Than God for all the Journeys in our lives who add color and fun and also give us new perspectives.

     

Leave a Reply

 
